top of page

Erik 2018


I’ve had a pretty awesome 2018. I’ve had the opportunity to have a lot of fun, exciting and interesting times this year from covering numerous sporting events, or just fun trips with friends and family it’s been a blast. Several highlights for me this year have been covering the 2018 College Football Playoff National Championship week in Atlanta, the Sugar Bowl, going on road trips to Alabama and Destin and covering a few NFL games with the Atlanta Falcons. The best one being when the Falcons played the Green Bay Packers (my favorite team) at Lambeau Field!

Going to Lambeau Field as a member of the media was definitely the highlight of the year for me. It was incredible to get the opportunity to go and actually cover a team that I’ve been rooting for since I was a little kid. The game was during the second week of December so it was definitely a bit cold there, especially since it had snowed the week before. It was fine for me though as I enjoying being in the cold at times and it was nice to get away from the warm Florida weather.

Being at Lambeau Field, in the press box, during a game was fantastic. I was able to do my job, see areas of the stadium that I’d never seen before and meet and interact with reporters that I’ve read and watched over the years. The best part was being able to go into the Packers locker room. Not only getting to see it because no one outside of the team and media is usually allowed in, but also getting to talk to the players after the game and soak in the aura and the experience. I was standing a couple feet away from guys like Clay Matthews, Tramon Williams, Davante Adams and so many more players. It was a pretty awesome experience.

I was also able to cover several college football and basketball games this year, as well as a few more Atlanta Falcons games, in addition to the game against the Packers. I covered the Falcons in their preseason matchup on the road against the Jacksonville Jaguars, a regular season game in Atlanta against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and their final game of the season, on the road in Tampa against the Bucs. It’s been pretty cool for me on both a professional and personal level getting to cover more NFL games, as I’ve been a huge fan of everything NFL related – and football overall - since I was a kid.

It’s been an extremely busy year for me traveling and covering all of these events, all while still working at Leads OnDemand. Though it can be a bit stressful and challenging at times to do all of these things and make it all work, I’m always up for a challenge! It’s been an awesome, stressful and exciting 2018 and if the start of this year is any indication, 2019 will be hopefully even better!

Stay caught up with me at my blog Starting At The 17.

Facebook / Twitter @erikslaby

Instagram @erikslaby

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page