top of page

Annika 2015


Ok! I’m finally sitting down, coffee by my side. Classical music playing. Now I am ready to tell you about my year. . . .

Sooooo . . .

Over the last part of Christmas break (2014) I did my ballet conditioning for the season. Which means, I did my regular stretches that I should have been doing the whole break. oops. But over all, they made my back stronger.

A few weeks into the season it was already audition time. Boy, they really should think about having auditions at the end of the season when we all look good!

Anyway, I auditioned for the Harid Conservatory in Boca Raton and the Gelsey Kirkland Academy in New York City. I found out a couple weeks later that I was accepted into both summer intensives and that I decided to attend both of them. Going to both camps costs a lot.

So, like I’ve done in years’ past, I played my violin on the street corner in our little downtown to fund them. Speaking of auditions, I was also getting ready for my violin audition for orchestra. I was hoping to go up one or two chairs. Although I would love to have reached higher, but there was only one violinist graduating so I didn’t have much hope.

For my ballet school’s spring performance we did Alice in Wonderland. In addition, we did excerpts from the ballet Sleeping Beauty. In Alice, I was the Mad Hatter, the Carpenter and a flower. In Sleeping Beauty I was the Lilac Fairy, which is a big honor because she is the main fairy.

After the performance season, I got all of my things together andI left for Harid in June. In no time, I was in my dorm room with one of my best friend’s from my hometown. It was a four week summer intensive and It was my all time favorite camp. I made friends very quickly and I was happy with my placement in classes. I loved all of my teachers and the whole program. We had ballet class, pointe, character, music, jazz, modern, dance wellness and nutrition.

By the end of the four weeks, I had improved so much and I wanted to stay longer.

But....I still had three more weeks of dancing!

A week later my mom, Erik and I flew up to New York City where I met up with one of my other hometown friends. We all shared an apartment in the upper west side.

At Gelsey Kirkland it was pretty much the same at Harid; dancing all day, hanging out with friends and exploring the city. I had the iconic teacher, Gelsey Kirkland, three times a week and I liked her a lot. She often used me as an example during class which was an honor. I feel like I benefited a lot from her teaching in artistry.

Soon the summer was over and It was time for school, ballet and orchestra.

Speaking of orchestra I think playing on the street corner had helped my confidence and technique a lot because I was surprised to see that had moved Up 14 chairs! And, into the 1st violin section (where they play the harder parts). My worry about not moving up in orchestra wasn’t necessary after all!

As fall went on, we started working on Christmas things such as Christmas music at orchestra and Nutcracker pieces in ballet. Dancing all through the summer paid off because I got a solo in the Nutcracker! I was lead Marzipan where we did several performances for the community.

Soon it was Christmas! We had a lot of fun. We had Christmas Eve dinner at our house, including my Uncle Steven, Aunt Jeanette, my cousin Gaby, Aunt Sharon and Uncle John and Granny and George. It was wonderful spending Christmas altogether as a family.

It has been a wonderful year and I am grateful to spend It with all of my friends and family!

I hope you’ve had a very Merry christmas and a Happy New Year!

Love, ~Annika

PS. Keep up with me during the year at my blog: AnnikaValentine.com. I'd love to hear from you! I am way behind in posting, but I have several really great interviews that I'll be adding to my site in the weeks to come. Stay tuned!

Stretching. I try to do it everyday before and after ballet, it takes about 2 hours total. It's imprtent to stretch because it will improve my fexibility.

At an orchestra concert.

One of the many weekends that I played my violin on the street corner. On an average, I play about 8 hours a weekend.

My roommate Meredith and I on our last day at Harid.

Out to dinner with some of my best friends from Harid.

Mom, Dad, Carolyn and I take our morning picture before class at the Gelsey Kirkland Academy.

Me with Gelsey Kirkland.

Carolyn and I at Lincoln Center.

Before Homecoming.

Performing Nutcracker at Macy's.

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page